5 Driving Laws Every Georgia Driver Should Know

It's important for drivers always to be aware of their state's driving laws, even if they have been driving for years. Many people don't know that even if you are not aware of a specific driving law being in place, you can still be charged by law enforcement if the law is violated. As a Georgia driver, it's always beneficial to refresh your knowledge of our state driving laws to prevent unwanted penalties or charges. To make this easier, our team here at Dermer Appel Ruder, LLC, has curated a list of five laws every Georgia driver should know:

Almost No Electronic Device While Behind the Wheel

In Georgia, holding any electronic device while driving is illegal, regardless of whether you are at a stoplight. It is, however, permitted to use hands-free devices such as BlueTooth earpieces (but does not include headphones)

All Divers are Required to Have Car Insurance, but It Is Not Required to Have Adequate Car Insurance

Even though car insurance is required in Georgia, more than the minimum policy requirement is required to cover the extent of the damages that occur after a car accident. The law requires drivers to have a minimum coverage of $50,000 of bodily liability insurance per accident, $25,000 per person, and a $25,000 minimum for property damage. The driver can be held financially liable for any damages that exceed the amount their policy covers.

Unlike Wearing Shoes, Putting on Your Seatbelt Is not Optional

Like most states, Georgia requires all drivers and passengers to wear a seatbelt when in the car. Even if it is uncomfortable or you forget to put it on because you are in a rush, getting pulled over for not having a seatbelt on could result in being fined. However, if you prefer to avoid driving with shoes on, you are in luck. Georgia does not require drivers to wear shoes when operating a motor vehicle.

Your Headlights Must Be Turned On When it's Raining

Since driving with headlights can significantly improve driving visibility in adverse conditions, Georgia requires all drivers to have their headlights on when it rains. Failure to do so can result in penalties on your license.

You Must Slow Down for Emergency Vehicles

If an emergency vehicle pulls over on the side of the road, you must slow down and move to the opposite side of the road (or stop when necessary). This can also include when the vehicle flashes its lights any color. Garbage trucks, police cars, or road maintenance vehicles also fall into this category.

Contact a Skilled Attorney

If you or someone you know has recently been cited or charged for violating Georgia's driving laws, it can be beneficial to contact a skilled attorney immediately. They will be able to review the details of your case and provide you with sound legal advice on any option you may have moving forward. Here at Dermer Appel Ruder, LLC, we have a team of knowledgeable attorneys who are here to fight for your rights. Let us help you through your time of need.

Contact us today at (404) 620-2224 or visit us online to schedule your free consultation with a member of our team.

Categories: 
Related Posts
  • How Long After a Car Accident Can You Sue in Georgia? Read More
  • How Much Can Someone Sue for a Car Accident in Georgia? Read More
  • What’s An Average Georgia Car Accident Injury Case Worth? Read More
/